See the Globe on a Student’s Budget

Not long ago, KC Owens from Blogging Across the Pond approached me to publish a post that he has written on travelling. Since we are both travel enthusiasts, I say “Why not?” So, here’s his post, enjoy!

KC Owens has written and submitted this article. KC is a college student who loves traveling, college life, fitness and a good survival kit. He enjoys studying different cultures, meeting new people and leaving his footprint somewhere most people only read about.

If you are a student ready to take the plunge into world travel, then you can get there by saving a little money and working hard to have enough cash to carry. With a little research and thorough planning, you can make your dream travel a reality while you are still a student. Follow this guide of travel tips to stay on budget and to make it back home without going broke!

1. Saving Enough Money and Paying Your Way

The key to a successful vacation abroad is having enough money to cover your trip. If you can manage it, take on a part-time job during the semester and a full-time job during your summers in between school; I do this and it helps quite a bit while both paying for school and funding an adventure. If you can estimate how much your total trip will cost, you can set a goal for saving. Before leaving on my first trip, I did not meet my budgeting goal so I researched what other options I had and according to Credit Card Insider, many students are using credit cards to help afford their education, bills and vacations. If it worked well for others I thought it would work well for me, too. Having a student credit card was a lifesaver for my trip. First, it allowed me to buy plane tickets without having the cash up front before my trip. Then, while I was traveling it automatically exchanged currencies for me so I didn’t have to waste time and money at kiosks every time I jumped the border. It even kept me safer because most pickpockets look for travelers who pull out a wad of cash when they pay for different items. By having a credit card, I was able to save time and money before my trip and during it. I wouldn’t recommend a card to everyone, but I would recommend doing some research to find out what could be a viable option for you and your travel budget.

2. Pack Lightly

By packing everything I need for my adventures into one small bag, I save tons of money. How? Most airlines and train companies charge their passengers extra for having numerous heavy bags; if you only have one small carry on, your ticket will be much cheaper. It also saves you money because you only need to buy one locker at a hostel instead of several. Over a week or a few weeks, this can add up to a lot of money! Select clothes that you can wash easily and that will air-dry quickly, such as microfiber and cotton mixes. By doing this, you can wash your clothes quickly in a sink and have them dry. This allows you to pack fewer clothes, carry a smaller bag and not have to pay for Laundromat services while abroad.

3. Plan Overnights before you Arrive There

Planning ahead of time is always a great idea no matter what you’re doing. When traveling, it’s the best decision you can make. I always plan ahead because when I don’t, something goes wrong. Once, my travel buddy and I spent a night outside in the cold because we both forgot to book a hostel. Now that’s bad planning. Now, I always book hostels a few days in advance. This saves money and it allows me to plan other things like sightseeing, tours and mountain climbs. Make sure you book a room with several beds, as your bill will be much cheaper than if you were to rent a private room. Also, pick a hostel outside the city limits; they tend to be much cheaper than that right in the heart of the city.

Get ready for budget travel to your favorite destination or to a locale that you have dreamed of for a long time. All it takes is a little planning and saving to see the world on a student’s budget. Follow this guide of travel tips, and you will be there before you know it!

1054542_55780316

Photo with courtesy of Piotr Ciuchta

3 thoughts on “See the Globe on a Student’s Budget

  1. Hi Joelle,

    We tried to look for your email contact but it does not seem to be available on your blog. So we are contacting you via a comment.

    On behalf of the National Library Board (NLB), we would like to invite you to pledge your blog to the Singapore Memory Project (SMP).

    We find that your entries about your exciting travels would be a great addition to the Singapore Memory Project.

    We think your blog would offer a different perspective. Whether your posts are an account of your daily life or an expression of your thoughts, our project hopes to find a home for these memories so that it can help build a ground-up understanding of Singapore.

    If you believe memories are worth preserving, simply pledge your blog here: http://singaporememory.simulation.com.sg/Public/Pledge.

    The SMP is a national initiative started in 2011 to collect, preserve and provide access to stories, moments and memories related to Singapore. For more information about this initiative, you may wish to contact Mr Patrick Cher at patrick_cher@nlb.gov.sg or read the FAQ.

    Yours sincerely,
    Krishna

    [Simulation Software & Technologies (S2T) Pte Ltd. is the officially appointed vendor for SMP for the period Nov 2012 to Dec 2013.]

Leave a Reply

